May 17, 2022


Official Website Of Union Of Campus Journalits, University of Ilorin.

23-year Jinx breaks as UCJ-UNILORIN ushers in first female president

1 min read

Peter Christiana, Abdullahi Ridhwan Adetutu

The University of Ilorin chapter of the Union of Campus Journalists, UCJ, yesterday in its just concluded elections, elected the first female president for the union.

Eze Glory Chikadibia, a 300level Law student in the institution emerged the first female president in the history of the union since its creation some 23 years ago.

The president-elect had a total of 81% as opposed to her contender, the outgoing Director General of the Union, Odeyemi Mubarak who gannered a total of 68% point during the pre-election screening exercise.

After the presidential debate, UCJ decided not just the occupant of the seat of presidency, other members of press council for the 2019/2020 administrative year, as well, were decided.

Eze Glory won with 38 votes against Mubarak with 28 votes and 3 voids was declared president by the UCJ Independent Electoral Commission. 

Other winners of positions in the press council are: Miss Jimoh Aisha as the Vice President, Administration; Abdullahi Ridhwan Adetutu as the Vice President, Editorial; Adedimeji Qauyyim as the Director General; Lawal Victor as the Assistant Director General; Aisha Bolaji as the Director of Finance; Haleemah Abdul-Salaam as the Director of Operations; and Agbaje Hameed as the Director of Publicity, respectively. However, the position of the Director of Mobilisation remained vacant.

The current president, Azeez Fadlullah congratulated everyone including the candidates, the observers and UCJIEC. “…no one is a loser.” he said.

He also stated that the handling over would come up on July 6th, 2019 at the Union’s press dinner.

Copyright © All rights reserved. Developed by Ssu-Technology Limited | Newsphere by AF themes.