August 19, 2022


Official Website Of Union Of Campus Journalits, University of Ilorin.

BREAKING: UNILORIN Wins Maiden Edition of West African Debate Competition

2 min read

Team Unilorin pose for group pix at the end of the championship

January 8, 2018.
The University of Ilorin Debate Team just emerged champions of the maiden Genesis Debate tournament held from the 4th till 7th of January, 2018, in Accra, Ghana.
The competition is an International Open tournament which featured undergraduate and postgraduate participants from Nigeria, Ghana and Mauritius.
UCJ UNILORIN gathered that the Final round of the championship which held on Sunday, 7th January at the University of Ghana, was contested by the following teams:
Opening government – Jessica Amoor (University of Ghana) & Esinam Osei-Bonsu (Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology); 
Opening Opposition – Faithfulness Okom (University of Calabar) & Derrick Ackah (Ghana Law school, Mokola).
Closing Government – Richard Adu-Poku (Africa Leadership University, Mauritius) & Omotayo Jimoh (UNILORIN).
Closing Opposition – Hawau Abikan & David Ejim (both of UNILORIN); with the University of Ilorin emerging champions.
Trophy and medals won by Team Unilorin
Furthermore, the debate team was also awarded 3 of the top 10 speakers medals, the Best Female Debater Award, the Second Best Judge Medal (won by Abolarin Mohammed), while a student of Unilorin, Adekunbi Ademola, served as the Co-Chief Adjudicator of the competition.
Here’s a list of Universities that were in attendance at the competition:
1. University of Calabar
2. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike.
3. University of Lagos
4. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti.
5. Federal University of Technology Akure
6. University of Ilorin
7. University of Ghana, Legon.
8. Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA)
9. Zenith University College, Accra.
10. ‎Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi.
11. ‎Islamic University College, Accra
12. Africa Leadership University, Mauritius.
13. ‎Covenant University, Otta.
OSUJI, Chima Francis
Copyright © All rights reserved. Developed by Ssu-Technology Limited | Newsphere by AF themes.