May 17, 2022


Official Website Of Union Of Campus Journalits, University of Ilorin.

Mixed reactions trail Science Education re-run presidential election

2 min read

Sequel to the irregularities that intercepted the Department of Science Education’s Presidential Election on Thursday, the 22nd of April, a re-run election was conducted in the early hours of Friday, 30th by the Independent SESA Electoral Commission (ISEC) as permitted by the constitution.

Out of 707 casted votes, Muktar Olamide polled 358 to emerge as the winner as against his opponent, Abdulsalam Omore, who polled 317, while 32 votes were declared void.

The electioneering which began exactly 10:30am, as observed by an official of the Unilorin Student Anti- Corrupt Practices Commission (UISAPC), Mr Ibrahim, was free, fair and credible.

However, some quarters were not satisfied with the outcome of the rerun as they were seen lamenting, and questioning the credibility of the election, while some students were basking in euphoria.

Mr Ibrahim said: “Honestly, it was free and fair. Anyone may have their complaint but I don’t know anything about that. I supervised and monitored everything from head to toe, everything was done righteous and in orderliness according to their constitution.”

Efforts to get in touch with Abdulsalam Omore was futile as he couldn’t be reached.

The chairman of the electoral body corroborated Mr Ibrahim while speaking with UCJ-Unilorin on a phone call after the election. He said, “Every commissioners representing the five units in the department were present, as well as the agents of both contestants, including the UISAPC official in attendance. It was transparent enough to declare the election free andWhoir.”

In a phone call with the president-elect, Muktar Olamide, he said, “If I’m to narrate this election, I believe it is very free and fair, and I really appreciate the effort of everyone who came out to vote for the right candidate that they feel will value the affairs of the administration. I’m very happy.”

PRESIDENT – Usman Mukhtar Olamide (MOU)
VICE PRESIDENT – Bankole Aishat Adebimpe.
DIRECTOR GENERAL – Lawal Ibrahim Anigilaje
DEPUTY DIRECTOR GENERAL – Musbaudeen Sukurat Atinuke
P.R.O- Oloruntoba Oluwaseun Matthew
WELFARE SECRETARY – Kalijaiye Joshua Tolulope
LIBRARIAN – Oyelayo Ridwan Omoloye
SPORT DIRECTOR- Adeyemi Victor Joshua

SRC (Student Representative Council)
Akindeko Samuel Jesutofunmi
Babatunde Basheerat Bukola
Atunde Suleiman Shola

Copyright © All rights reserved. Developed by Ssu-Technology Limited | Newsphere by AF themes.