May 17, 2022


Official Website Of Union Of Campus Journalits, University of Ilorin.


2 min read

SoundCity Awards(Of Then And The Most Recent) 
By: Adepoju Oluwatimilehin Samuel

Welcome to another interesting and well packaged Thursday. Today on throwback thursday, I will like to refresh our minds for those who followed the sound city awards and also gist those that do not know about sound city.

The Soundcity MVP Awards Festival (“TheMVPs” or “MVP”) is an event presented by Soundcity TV which awards plaques to musicians and performers across Africa. Since 2007, the winners are chosen by the viewers and fans by visiting #TheMVPs’ website and a selected committee of the industry stakeholder.
The awards are presented annually and broadcast live on Soundcity TV on DStv, GOtv, TalkTalk UK, Soundcity Radio Network and Soundcity Android and iOS app as well as online on the SoundcityTV website, YouTube and other social media platform.

Some of the winners of the night included Burna Boy, Prince Kaybee, Rema, Naira Marley, Joeboy, Fireboy, Davido etc. While, Joeboy, Tiwa Savage, Diamond Platnumz performed their hit songs as they thrilled the audience.

South African media personality, Bonang Matheba, hosted the event.

Some Nigerians on social media were divided over Rema’s emergence as winner of ‘Best New Act’.

They took to their Twitter pages criticising the organisers and accusing them of being partial.

The critics argued that Fireboy deserved to win Best new MVP rather than Rema.

This is not the first time fans of both artistes would criticise award organisers

In 2019, the organisers of Headies award were also called out after Rema won the ‘Next rated award’ defeating Fireboy and Joeboy.

See the full list of winners at the Soundcity MVP Award and their category below.

Best New MVP

FireBoy DML (NG)

JoeBoy (NG)

Marioo (TZ)

Rema (NG) – Winner

Simmy (SA)

Wendy Shay (GH)

Best Collaboration

Blow My Mind – Davido (NG)

Daz How Star Do – Skibii (NG)

Gugulethu – Prince Kaybee [SA] – Winner

Jama – DJ Mic Smith (GH)

Killin Dem – Burna Boy (NG)

Inama – Diamond PlatNumz (TZ)

Best Pop

Innos B (CG)

Nandy (TZ)

JoeBoy (NG) – Winner

Otile Brown (KE)

Kizz Daniel (NG)

Teni (NG)

Mayorkun (NG)

Rayvanny (TZ)

Naira Marley (NG)

Best Hip Hop

BlaqBonez (NG)

Falz (NG)

KHALIGRAPH Jones (KE) – Winner

Kwesta (SA)

Medikal (GH)

Shinski (KE)

Sarkodie (GH)

Reminisce (NG)

Ricky Rick (SA)

Zakwe (SA)

Best Duo

Black Motion (SA)

Blaq diamond (SA)

DopeNation (GH) – Winner

Ethic (KE).

Congratulations to all winners of the awards and kudos to all Nigerian artist for making Nigeria proud among other African countries. Indeed Nigeria is the giant of Africa.

Till will meet next week for another throwback gist, remember to always entertain yourself it drives away sadness.

Copyright © All rights reserved. Developed by Ssu-Technology Limited | Newsphere by AF themes.