May 19, 2022


Official Website Of Union Of Campus Journalits, University of Ilorin.

UCJ-UNILORIN inaugurates new excos, launches magazine

2 min read

By Halimah Adisa

The Union of Campus Journalists, University of Ilorin chapter last Saturday, June 12, inaugurated its new executive officials in a ceremony that also featured the launching of the Union’s annual magazine publication and presentations of merit award to the deserving personalities.

The event had in attendance the first professor of Mass communication in the university of Ilorin, Prof. L.A Azeez of the department of Mass Communication alongside the representative of the Dean of the Faculty of Arts Prof. Abdulrasheed Adeoye, Dr Fahm of the department of Islamic Studies; and the union’s legal adviser and alumnus, Barrister Chima Osuji.

Prof. L. A. Azeez while giving a review of the magazine “The Optic. 2020: Through the lens of a pandemic” stated that the Union has produced the best magazine in years despite the challenges.  He also acknowledged  that members of the union did a great job by going out of their various fields to create works like “The Optic Magazine“. He therefore implored every mass communication student to join the union.

Prof. Azeez added that the magazine has reached almost perfection but advised the next administration to work on the faults. “There is room for improvement,” he said.

Dr Fahm, in his review of the magazine, urged the members to continue their good works as deeds would paid off someday.

The Magazine was also launched by Prof. L.A. Azeez after he had gone through the works. He further reiterated that the magazine was of standards and would recommend it as an international pass.

Meanwhile, members of the Union were also presented with awards of recognition in the following other: Abdullahi Ridhwan Adetutu, Most Impactful Story of the Year; Agbaje Hammed Ayomide, Veteran Journalist of the year; Ibrahim Salman, Journalist of the year; Muhammed Bello, Rookie Journalist of the year(male); Olayide Funmi Soaga, Rookie Journalist of the year(Female); Halimah Adisa, Creative writer of the year; Ajao Ifeoluwa Emmanuel, Broadcast Journalist of the year and LSS press was awarded Local press outlet of the year.

Also at the event, awards of recognition were presented to Mr. M. O. Durosinmi and Mr Chima Osuji on the award categories of the Most Supportive University Staff (for the year) and Most Supportive Alumnus (gotthe year), respectively.

The executive members (The Press Council) of outgoing administration also received award of excellence for their meritorious service while at the helm of the Union’s affairs.

The program ended with the Swearing in of the newly elected officials of the union by Ameenat Ayodimeji, representing the UCJ IEC Chairman after she relieved the outgoing administration of their duties.

Copyright © All rights reserved. Developed by Ssu-Technology Limited | Newsphere by AF themes.