May 19, 2022


Official Website Of Union Of Campus Journalits, University of Ilorin.

Unilorin students elect new Students’ Union Leadership

1 min read

By Adisa Halimah, Salman Ibraheem

With 86 votes difference between him and the first runner-up , Okoko Wisdom Oluwaseun, politically known as Passion emerged as the newly elected students union president.

The Unilorin Independent Student Electoral Commission’s (UISEC) chairman, Ahmed Aluko announced the result by 9:15pm on Tuesday evening at the auditorium basement.

Passion, a student of faculty of education polled 2,611 votes to defeat his nearest political rival, Sanni Abdulqudus Olarewaju, known as Asiwaju who had 2,525 votes. It was understood that Asiwaju was once a day president during Eminent administration. 

The current senate council chief whip representing faculty of Environmental Science, Bagbansoro Uthman Olamilekan, also contested but lost the  presidential race with a total number of 1,718 votes.

Among the results announced was the office of the vice president which was won by the outgoing deputy senate clerk, Muhammed Fatimah Temitope, (Teemah) who had 1,862 votes. 

The incumbent assistant general secretary, Ajede Khadijah Olarewaju (Bankz) had 1,201 votes to emerge as the general secretary and the only returning CEC member.

According to Ahmed, “A bye-election would be conducted at faculty of pharmaceutical science where there’s only one senator instead of three alloted to each faculty”

The result announcement had in attendance the dean of Students Affairs, the sub-dean Dr. Alex Akanmu Morejikeji, agents of each political aspirants, members of UISEC, and some faculties electoral chairmen.

The counting of the results started by 6pm but was delayed due to power outage.

The announcement was trailed with a celebration galore within the universuty campus.

Copyright © All rights reserved. Developed by Ssu-Technology Limited | Newsphere by AF themes.