May 26, 2022


Official Website Of Union Of Campus Journalits, University of Ilorin.

UNILORIN unseated champion, wins Debate Championship for the third time

2 min read

The University of Ilorin Team have won the Masters’ Round (MR V) Debate Tournament’ 5th Edition which held between 29th of March, 2019 to 2nd of April, 2019. The championship holds annually in Calabar, Cross-river state Nigeria.

The Championship consisted of 2 categories, debate and public speaking recording over 80 participants from;
University of Port Harcourt (UniPort)
University of Lagos ( Unilag)
Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umuahia (MOUAU)
Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO)
Nnamdi Azikwe University (Unizik)
Federal University of Technology Akure (FUTA)
Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU)
University of Calabar (Unical) and
University of Ilorin (Unilorin).

The Unilorin debate club recorded four teams proceeding to the semi-finals and ultimately three teams in the finals.

The 3 UNILORIN Teams namely; Team Beetles(hybrid), Team Alpha and Team AFlame made the 4-team finals with Team FreeFolk (UniCal) as the only other institution represented in the finals.

Hybrid Team Beetles (Usman Halimat Ojone- Unilorin and Eze Nwakuba) won the championship making it the 3rd time in a row that the institution is decorated with a trophy as champions from the said championship.

Also, members of the club received medals of excellence;
2nd Best Speaker- Usman Halimat Ojone
3rd Best Speaker- Jessica Awurum
5th Best Speaker- Ezechukwu Tracy-Allen
9th Best Speaker- Olayemi Samuel.

The team had 1 adjudicator representing them at the championship in person of Orire Solihu who emerged the 3rd best judge.

The second category of the championship: Public Speaking stream had 6 Unilorin students representing the team, 2 of which proceeded to the finals and ultimately resulting to Olayemi Samuel winning the trophy for the team.

Copyright © All rights reserved. Developed by Ssu-Technology Limited | Newsphere by AF themes.